UK All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on West Papua

The UK-based All Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on West Papua brings together over fifteen MPs from parties across the UK’s political spectrum.

The APPG works to coordinate Parliamentary pressure on the UK government over its support for Indonesia’s occupation of West Papua. On May 8, 2019, for example, APPG members organised and spoke in a debate on West Papuan human rights and self-determination in the House of Commons.

Current members of the APPG include:

  • Alex Sobel MP (Labour) (Chair)
  • Anneliese Dodds MP (Labour) (Treasurer)
  • Lord Harries of Pentregarth (Vice Chair)
  • Lord Lexden (Conservative) (Vice Chair)
  • John Howell MP (Conservative) (Vice Chair)
  • Dr Alan Whitehead MP (Labour) (Vice Chair)
  • Lloyd Russell-Moyle MP (Labour) (Vice Chair)
  • Caroline Lucas MP (Green) (Vice Chair)
  • Jonathan Edwards MP (Plaid Cymru)
  • Catherine West MP (Labour)
  • Nick Brown MP (Labour)
  • Colleen Fletcher MP (Labour)
  • Robert Courts MP (Conservative)
  • Martyn Day MP (SNP)
  • Patrick Grady MP (SNP)
  • Munira Wilson MP (Liberal Democrat)
  • Layla Moran MP (Liberal Democrat)

The APPG was originally founded in 2008 by Benny Wenda and Andrew Smith MP. It was re-established in 2015.

Leave a Comment

You must be logged in to post a comment.