papua_student-protest_110502_420pxThe West Papua Declaration

We the undersigned recognise the inalienable right of the indigenous people of West Papua to self-determination, which was violated in the 1969 “Act of Free Choice”,
AND call upon our governments through the United Nations to put in place arrangements for the free exercise of that right
SO that the indigenous people of West Papua can decide democratically their own future in accordance with international standards of human rights, the principles of international law and the Charter of the United Nations.
International Parliamentarians for West Papua (IPWP)


  1.  Benny Wenda (West Papua)
  2.  Baron Harries of Pentregarth (UK)
  3.  Alex Sobel MP, Labour Party (UK)
  4.  Caroline Lucas MP, Green Party (UK)
  5.  Jeremy Corbyn MP, Former Leader of the Labour Party (UK)
  6.  David Amess MP, Conservative Party (UK)
  7.  Ralph Regenvanu MP, (Vanuatu)
  8.  Powes Parkop MP, Social Democratic Party and Governor of Port Moresby (Papua New Guinea)
  9. Lord Hylton (UK)
  10. Senator Sarah Hanson-Young, Australian Greens (Australia)
  11. Dr Alan Whitehead MP, Labour Party (UK) 
  12. Peter Bottomley MP, Conservative Party (UK) 
  13. Bill Wiggin MP, Conservative Party (UK)
  14. Baroness Bottomley of Nettlestone, Conservative Party (UK)
  15. Lord Kilclooney, Ulster Unionist Party (UK)
  16. Baroness Northover, Liberal Democrats (UK)
  17. Aileen Campbell MSP (Scotland) 
  18. Jamie Hepburn MSP (Scotland)
  19. Bill Kidd MSP (Scotland) 
  20. Linda Fabiani MSP (Scotland) 
  21. The Rt Revd John Pritchard, The Bishop of Oxford (UK) 
  22. Senator Dr Richard Di Natale, Greens (Australia) 
  23. Diane Abbott MP, Labour Party (UK)
  24. Gary Streeter MP, Conservative Party (UK)
  25. Eugenie Sage MP, Green Party (New Zealand)
  26. Clare Curran MP, Labour Party (New Zealand)
  27. Lord Collins of Highbury, Labour Party (UK)
  28. Nick Brown MP, Opposition Chief Whip (Commons), Labour Party (UK)
  29. Senator Larissa Waters, Australian Greens (Australia)
  30. Alison Johnstone MSP (Scotland)
  31. Derick Rawcliff Manu’ari MP (People First Party, Soloman Islands)
  32. Andy Slaughter MP, Labour Party (UK)
  33. Christine Grahame MSP, SNP (Scotland)
  34. Cate Faehrmann MP, Australian Greens (Australia)
  35. Anneliese Dodds MP, Shadow Chancellor, Labour Party (UK)
  36. Neil Bibby MSP, Labour Party (Scotland)
  37. Jamie Parker MP, Australian Greens (Australia)
  38. Elizabeth May MP, Green Party of Canada (Canada)
  39. Louisa Wall MP, Labour Party (New Zealand)
  40. Senator Janet Rice, Australian Greens (Australia)
  41. Adrian Rurawhe MP, Labour Party (New Zealand)
  42. J.S. Voordewind MP, ChristenUnie (The Netherlands)
  43. Tommy Sheppard MP, SNP (UK)
  44. Moses Nagamootoo MP, Prime Minister, (Guyana)
  45. Keith Scott MP (Guyana)
  46. Rupert Roopnaraine MP Minister of Education (Guyana)
  47. Kieran McAnulty MP, Labour Party (New Zealand)
  48. Carmel Sepuloni MP, Labour Party (New Zealand)
  49. Aupito William Sio MP, Labour Party (New Zealand)
  50. Poto Williams MP, Labour Party (New Zealand)
  51. Jenny Salesa MP, Labour Party (New Zealand)
  52. Gareth Hughes MP, Green Party (New Zealand)
  53. Jan Logie MP, Green Party (New Zealand) 
  54. Marama Davidson MP, Green Party (New Zealand)
  55. Eugenie Sage MP, Green Party (New Zealand)
  56. Golriz Ghahraman MP, Green Party (New Zealand)
  57. Chloe Swarbrick MP, Green Party (New Zealand) 
  58. Robert Courts MP, Conservative Party (UK)
  59. Jonathan Edwards MP, Plaid Cymru (UK)
  60. Catherine West MP, Labour Party (UK)
  61. Lord Lexden, Conservative Party (UK)
  62. Mark Parnell MLC, Australian Greens (Australia)
  63. Alistair Carmichael MP, Liberal Democrats (UK)
  64. Colleen Fletcher MP, Labour Party (UK)
  65. Senator Gorka Elejabarrieta, EH Bildu (Basque Country)
  66. John Howell MP, Conservative Party (UK)
  67. Lloyd Russell Moyle MP, Labour Party (UK)
  68. Martyn Day MP, SNP (UK)
  69. Munira Wilson MP, Liberal Democrats (UK)
  70. Bambos Charalambous MP, Labour Party (UK)
  71. Carles Puigdemont MEP, Together for Catalonia, President-in-Exile (Catalonia) 
  72. Patrick Grady MP, Scottish National Party (UK)
  73. Pernando Barrena MEP, EH Bildu (Basque Country)
  74. Senator Pat Dodson, Labor Party (Australia)
  75. Kate Thwaites MP, Labor Party (Australia)
  76. Lidia Thorpe MP, Australian Greens (Australia)
  77. Andrew Wilkie MP, Independent (Australia)
  78. Senator Jordon Steele-John, Australian Greens (Australia)
  79. Senator Janet Rice, Australian Greens (Australia)
  80. Senator Larissa Watees, Australian Greens (Australia)
  81. Stephen Bates MP, Australian Greens (Australia)
  82. Ingrid Leary MP, Labour Party (New Zealand)
  83. Marama Davidson MP, New Zealand Greens (New Zealand)
  84. Teanau Tuiono MP, New Zealand Greens (New Zealand)
  85. Jan Logie MP, New Zealand Greens (New Zealand)
  86. Ricardo Menendez MP, New Zealand Greens (New Zealand)
  87. Antoni Comín I Oliveres MEP Together for Catalonia (Catalonia) 

Signatories (Former Parliamentarians)

  1. Andrew Smith MP, Labour Party (UK)
  2. John Battle MP, Labour Party (UK)
  3. Chief Reuben Ishmael VP, ‘Shepherds Alliance’ (Vanuatu)
  4. Moana Carcasses Kalosil, Prime Minister (Vanuatu)
  5. Senator Bob Brown, Australian Greens (Australia)
  6. Michael Foster MP, Labour Party (UK)
  7. Betty Williams MP, Labour Party (UK)
  8. Jeanette Fitzsimons, Green Party (New Zealand)
  9. Keith Locke, Green Party Leader (New Zealand)
  10. Catherine Delahunty MP, Green Party (New Zealand)
  11. Dr Russel Norman MP, Co-Leader Green Party (New Zealand)
  12. Lord Avebury, Liberal Democrats (UK)
  13. Patrick J. Kennedy, Member of Congress (USA)
  14. Ondrej Liska MP, Minister of Education (Czech Republic)
  15. Katerina Jacques MP (Czech Republic)
  16. Přemysl Rabas MP (Czech Republic)
  17. Maryan Street MP, Labour Party (New Zealand)
  18. Pascal Prince MP, Deputy of the Jurassian Parliament (Switzerland)
  19. Greg Barber MP, Australian Greens (Australia)
  20. Stephen Williams MP, Liberal Democrats (UK)
  21. Jamie Maxton-Graham MP (PNG)
  22. Boka Kondra MP (PNG)
  23. Satu Hassi MEP, Green Party (Finland)
  24. Christine Milne, Australian Greens (Australia)
  25. Senator Urko Aiartza (Basque Country)
  26. Denise Roche MP, Green Party (New Zealand)
  27. Dr. Kennedy Graham MP, Green Party (New Zealand)
  28. Laurie Ferguson MP (Australia)
  29. Senator John Madigan (Australia)
  30. Inaki Irazabalbeitia Fernandez MEP (The Basque Country)
  31. Steffan Browning MP, Green Party (New Zealand)
  32. Jean Urquhart MSP (Scotland)
  33. Marco Biagi MSP (Scotland)
  34. Danielle Auroi, Chairwoman of The European Affairs Committee (France)  
  35. Melissa Parke MP (Australia)
  36. Gary Juffa, Governor of Oro Province (PNG)
  37. Metiria Turei MP, Co-leader of the Green Party (New Zealand)
  38. Mojo Mathers MP, Green Party (New Zealand)
  39. Billy Gordon MP (Australia)
  40. Senator Lee Rhiannon (Australia)
  41. Rob Pyne MP (Australia)
  42. Senator Scott Ludlam, Deputy Leader of Australian Greens (Australia)
  43. Stewart Maxwell MSP (Scotland)
  44. Natalie McGarry MP, Independent (UK)
  45. Natalie Bennett, Former Leader of the Green Party of England and Wales (UK)
  46. Harry van Bommel MP, SP (The Netherlands)
  47. Dr Rachel Carling-Jenkins MP, Democratic Labour Party (Australia)
  48. Toeolesulusulu Cedric Schuster (Samoa)
  49. Eva-Britt Svensson MEP (Sweden) 
  50. Edward Vaizey MP, Conservative Party (UK)  
  51. Jean Lambert MEP, Green Party (UK)  
  52.  David Martin MEP (UK) 
  53. Senator Clare Moore (Australia) 
  54. Jane Prentice MP (Australia) 
  55. Senator Bill Perkins, Senator (New York State), Democrat Party (USA) 
  56. Claude Moraes MEP (UK) Molly Scott Cato MEP (South West England and Gibraltar) 
  57. Abel David MP, Union Moderate Party (Vanuatu) 
  58. Leke van den Burg MEP, Social Democrat (The Netherlands)